Left Coast Voices

"I would hurl words into the darkness and wait for an echo. If an echo sounded, no matter how faintly, I would send other words to tell, to march, to fight." Richard Wright, American Hunger

Whoosh And It’s Gone!

Elfwriter

Whoosh. It’s Gone!

The most absurd part is: I have done this several times. I have written a novel, edited it, had it professionally edited, edited what the editor edited, had it line-edited, edited what the line editor edited, gave it one more read through, and then…. Whoosh!

Yes, whoosh I say! The manuscript has gone to the formatters. I receive a confirmation that everything is okay (otherwise I bug them like crazy), and I am told by the good folks at Tourmaline Books to go prepare for the launch.

Just like that. It’s gone. Whoosh! I’m rather fond of that word, by the way. Very underrated in literature. But here I sit and stare at the screen, wondering what to do next. Do I go on vacation? Have a stiff scotch? Start writing Book 6? All of the above?

It remains, eight books later, a weird moment in time…

View original post 245 more words

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Whoosh And It’s Gone!

  1. Congrats on finishing another book! Personally, I would take a day off and celebrate with a cocktail and a good book to read.

  2. Thank you, Tanya. I treated myself to a few days of beginning the next book! Possessed?

    Alon
    http://www.alonshalev.com

Leave a Reply

